Trio Cassiopeia


Trio Cassiopeia is an early music chamber ensemble made up of Dominic Giardino (historical clarinet), Alaia Ferran (baroque viola), and Anders Muskens (historical keyboards). Formed at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague, they collaborate on Classical and Romantic chamber music on period instruments. 


17 December 2017 [16:00] – “Weihnachten Akademiekonzerte”Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester chamber soloists, The Hague (NL)


Dominic Giardino – clarinet

Originally from the United States, Dominic Giardino (b. 23 January 1994) moved to the Netherlands during the Autumn of 2016 to study historical clarinets and performance practice with Professor Eric Hoeprich as a U.S. Fulbright Scholar. Dominic began studying historical clarinets independently in 2013, and in 2014, he recorded an album of music by the 19th century American composer Thomas Coates with Newberry’s Victorian Cornet Band. The CD, entitled “Thomas Coates: The Father of Band Music in America”, was recorded on original 19th century instruments. Soon after moving to Europe, Dominic co-founded the wind ensemble Trio Auriga (NL/DE)Focussing on composers such as Pleyel and Wölfl, the ensemble seeks to remember a lost genre of wind music from the late 18th/early 19th centuries. He can also be heard with the Boston based historical instrument orchestra, Grand Harmonie (USA)and as a participant of the 2018 Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment Experience Scheme (UK). In addition to performing, Dominic’s interests extend into the sector of arts management where in 2016 he assisted in the administration of Pegasus Early Music (USA), and in 2017 co-founded the Beethoven Festival of The Hague (NL) with colleagues from the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague. Dominic’s principal clarinet teachers include Eric Hoeprich, Kenneth Grant, and Jon Manasse. He holds a Bachelor of Music Degree in Clarinet Performance from the Eastman School of Music (USA), and is currently pursuing a Master of Music Degree in Historical Clarinets from the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague (NL).

Alaia Ferran – viola

Born in Bilbao on 21 May 1988, Alaia Ferran started her musical training at the age of seven with professors Nicolae Ducca and Ángela Mendez. At the age of eleven she moved to Barcelona, where she carried on her studies with professor Charles Courant (violinist in the Teatro del Liceo de Barcelona Orchestra), while also receiving masterclasses from Ala Voronkova, Kai Gleusteen, Manuel Solans and Solange Dessane.

She later graduated in CSMA (Conservatorio Superior de Música de Aragón), as a pupil of Rolando Prusak and Enrique Palomares. During those years she regularly had masterclasses from Nicolás Chumachenco. She also received chamber music training from all the members hof Cuarteto Casals and Cuarteto Quiroga, as well as from Humberto Armas and Kennedy Moretti.

Alaia has been awarded prize in the III Menorca-Fidah Viola Soloists Competition. She recently finished a Masters in Early Music under professor Emilio Moreno in the ESMUC (Escola Superior de Musica de Catalunya) and in the present time she is studying a Master in Musicology and Early Music Performance under professor Ryo Terakado in The Royal Conservatory of The Hague.

In the realm of Historically Informed Performance, she has been playing with ensembles like Holland Baroque Orchestre, Theresia Youth Orchestra, Jeune Orchestre Atlantique, Nereydas, La Spagna, Incipit, Concerto1700, Camerata Antonio Soler and Tomás de Iriarte Quartet and she had the privilege to work with conductors like Lars Ulrik Mortensen, Philippe Herreweghe, Neville Marriner, Rinaldo Alessandrini, Chiara Banchini and Alfredo Bernardini among others.

Anders Muskens – Fortepiano

Anders Muskens (b. 27 July 1993) began modern piano studies at the age of 4 in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. He completed his Associateship in Piano Performance from the Royal Conservatory of Music, Toronto at the age of 15 under the tutelage of Dr. Irina Konovalov. He received numerous awards and scholarships from the Edmonton Kiwanis Festival in Edmonton CA, the Provost Music Festival Plaque at the Alberta Music Festival in Calgary CA, the Winspear Fund Scholarship for Advanced Classical Music Study, the Ranald and Vera Shean Memorial Award, and competed at the Canadian Music Competition National Final in Quebec CA. He is currently studying historical performance on fortepiano and harpsichord at the Royal Conservatoire of The Hague under Dr. Bart van Oort (fortepiano), Petra Somlai (fortepiano), and Fabio Bonizzoni (harpsichord). Anders has received masterclasses from Peter Van Heyghen, Jill Feldman, Siebe Henstra, Rachel Beesley, Eric Hoeprich, Walter Reiter, Raquel Andueza, and Michael Tsalka. Anders regularly performs as a soloist, an accompanist, a basso continuo player, and conductor. Anders plays on a variety of historical grand pianos, harpsichords, square pianos (tafelklaviers), clavichords, and spinets from different epochs and regions of Europe. Anders co-founded Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague in late 2016. He also worked with Ensemble La Favorita as one of the founding members in early 2017, and competed in the H.I.F. Biber competition in Linz AT, and played concerts in the Musica Antica Festival Bruges, the Laus Polyphoniae festival in Antwerp as part of the International Young Artist’s Presentation 2017, the Utrecht Early Music Festival, and the Mini Mozart Festival in TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht NL. As one of the founding members of the baroque chamber ensemble L’isoletta di cigni, Anders will compete in the Göttingen Händel Competition. He also played continuo in a production of Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte with Codarts in Rotterdam in February 2018.

Aside from these activities, Anders is a period composer and improviser, specializing in mid to late 18th century styles. He has written vocal, orchestral, and chamber works for a variety of settings. He completed several reconstructions of Mozart orchestral and chamber music fragments. 

Anders also founded and sits as president of Alberta Mozart Society, a non-profit organization headquartered in Edmonton, Canada with the goal of promoting interest and study in western music of the 18th and early 19th centuries. He also experiments with historical oboes and instrument design, and holds a degree in electrical engineering.




Programme: Mozart & Anton Stadler

W.A. Mozart – Trio in E flat for clarinet, viola, and fortepiano K. 498

  1. Andante
  2. Menuetto
  3. Rondo. Allegretto

W.A. Mozart – Quintet for Clarinet and Strings K. 581, arranged for clarinet, viola, and fortepiano (in the early 19th century)

  1. Allegro
  2. Larghetto
  3. Menuetto
  4. Allegretto con variazioni

Programme: Classical Chamber Music

G. Brunetti – Sonata for viola and fortepiano in D major

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Larghetto sostenuto
  3. Rondo. Allegretto

J.B. Vanhal – Sonata for clarinet and fortepiano in B flat major

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Adagio cantabile
  3. Rondo. Allegretto

W.A. Mozart – Trio in E flat for clarinet, viola, and fortepiano K. 498

  1. Andante
  2. Menuetto
  3. Rondo. Allegretto