Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester
Loading Events

« All Events

After Baroque: Utrecht Early Music Festival Fringe

August 28 @ 11:00 - 12:00


Das Neue Mannheimer Orchester is proud to present a concert at the Utrecht Early Music Festival Fringe! Stay tuned for further details about the venue!

Join DNMO for a concert of post-Baroque music from between 1730-1780 by composers from Mannheim, Dresden, London, and Berlin including instrumental and operatic music by neglected masters Johann Adolf Hasse, Carl Heinrich Graun, Carl Stamitz, Johann Christian Bach, and new “18th century” music from the DNMO kapellmeister Anders Muskens. 

Free admission, but please collect your free tickets at the Festival Centre TivoliVredenburg from 9.00 on the day of the concert.


Johann Adolf Hasse (1699-1783) – Overture from La Didone Abbandonata (Dresden, 1742)

I. Allegrissimo
II. Alla Polacca
III. Presto

Johann Adolf Hasse (1699-1783) – Aria “Non ha ragione, ingrato!” from La Didone Abbandonata (Dresden, 1742)

Sang by Fee Suzanne de Ruiter (soprano)


Non ha ragione, ingrato,
un core abbandonato
da chi giuro gli fé?
Anime innamorate,
se la provaste mai,
ditelo voi per me!
Perfido! tu lo sai
se in premio un tradimento
io meritai da te.
E qual sarà tormento,
anime innamorate,
se questo mio non è?

DIDO (Translation)

You are mistaken, ingrate,
an abandoned heart
to whom will I swear loyalty?
In love spirits,
if you ever experienced it,
say it for me!
Perfidious! you know
if in reward a betrayal
I deserved you.
And which shall be torment,
in love spirits
if this is not mine?

Johann Adolf Hasse (1699-1783) – Aria “Non vi dolga” from Asteria (Dresden, 1737) 

Sang by Heleen Bongenaar (soprano)


Non vi dolga, o piaggie amene,
Non da voi non parte Amor,
Ch’ei negli occhi del mio bene,
Ch’ei chi resta nel mio cor:
Così il Sole in suo passaggio
Lungo raggio
Dietro lascia di splendor.

ASTERIA (Translation)

Do not suffer, oh pleasant cheats
From you does not Love come,
In the eyes of my dear,
Who remains in my heart:
So the sun in its passing long ray
leaves a splendor behind.

Carl Heinrich Graun (1704-1759) – Aria “Mi paventi il figlio indegno” from Brittanico (Berlin, 1751)

Sung by May Kristin Svanholm Hegvold (soprano)


Mi Paventi il figlio indegno
o l’atroce mi disdegno
si prepari ad incontrar.
Sono madre, e madre augusta,
ma del figlio l’alma ingiusta
me dal trono vuol scacciar.

AGRIPPINA (Translation)

Let my unworthy son fear me,
or prepare to face
my dreadful scorn.
I am a mother, and a noble mother,
but my son, with this unjust soul
wants to chase me away from my throne.

Anders Muskens (1993-) – Recitative and Aria “To Scorn my flame!” – “O! Heaven, I faint!” from Dido (The Hague, 2018)

Sang by Tinka Pypker (soprano)

Text coming. 

Carl Stamitz (1745-1801) – Keyboard Concerto in D (Mannheim, 1770)

Soloist: Anders Muskens (harpsichord)

I. Allegro

Johann Christian Bach (1735-1782) – Recitative and Aria “Della Patria lo scempio” – “Ah mi sento già stridere d’intorno” from Carattaco (London, 1767)

Sang by Jole de Baerdemaeker (soprano)

CARTISMANDUA (translation)

The calamity of my country, the contempt of others,
My own remorse and lamentation,
Are the only fruits of my capricious passion.
I adored Caratacus: he ungraciously rejected my affections:
Casablene had his heart and hand; hence, through jealousy
I sought revenge; I now perceive my error, I am become
The horror of my country; let my example alone be sufficient
To terrify every other woman; my sober reasonings are now ineffectual,
And repentance is too late. 

Johann Christian Bach (1735-1782) – Aria “Vanne, superbo audace” from Carattaco (London, 1767)

Sang by Heleen Bongenaar (soprano)

Vanne! Superbo audace,
Vanne la guerra avrai;
La ricusata pace,
Cara ti costerà.

But if friendship displeases you, depart,
You shall have war:
This refusal of peace
Shall cost you dearly.


Anders Muskens – Kapellmeister
Beniamino Paganini – Vice-kapellmeister


Tinka Pypker – soprano
Jole De Baerdemaeker – soprano
May Kristin Svanholm Hegvold – soprano
Heleen Bongenaar – soprano
Fee Suzanne de Ruiter – soprano


Takuto Takegishi – Concertmaster (violin)
Lena Rademann – Violin
Yumina Ishii – Violin
Francine Maas – Violin
Clara Sawada – violin
Weronika Zimnoch – Violin
Alaia Ferran – viola
Isabel Franenberg – viola
Evan Buttar – cello
Amandine Menuge – cello
Eva Euwe – bass
Takumi Hiratsuka – bass
Florencia Gómez – traverso
Tiziano Teodori – traverso
Federico Forla – oboe
Antoine Metivier – oboe
Sandra Pérez Romero – chalumeau
Jeong-guk Lee – bassoon
Gerard Serrano Garcia – horn
Jairo Gimeno Veses – horn
Punto Bawono – lute, theorbo


Geertekerkhof 23
Utrecht, 3511 XC Netherlands
+ Google Map